The view from the summit of Mount Douglas

Things to do

Hikes near Victoria BC: trails with length, difficulty and dog rules

Photo: Joli Rumi · CC BY-SA 4.0

Nine hikes and trail areas near Victoria, each with only what its official page says: lengths and difficulty where stated (many pages give a rating but no length), dog rules, parking and current closures. The Churchill Drive summit road at PKOLS (Mount Douglas) is closed to vehicles until 1 December 2026, and the Goldstream salmon run starts in late October.

Last updated October 18, 2026 · Prices and schedules checked October 18, 2026

Hikes and trail areas

The view from the summit of Mount Douglas

Saanich

PKOLS (Mount Douglas) Park

  • Churchill Drive gate to the summit parking lot: 1,500 m with a 160 m elevation change
  • Green, blue and black trails

A Saanich signature park with more than 21 km of trails rated green (easy), blue (moderate) and black (difficult), and a summit at 202 m.

Facts from the official pages
Summit road
The summit road is closed to vehicles from 19 January to 1 December 2026 for the telecommunications tower replacement. When open it is for vehicles from noon to 10 pm; it is closed to motorized vehicles (except mobility devices) until noon, and when snowy or icy. Source
Dogs
Dogs must be on a leash at all times except on designated leash-optional trails. From May 1 to August 31 dogs are not allowed in park areas north of Cordova Bay Road or on the beach, except the asphalt road and parking lot. A 60 m heron nesting buffer keeps dogs off the lower beach. Source
Parking
Designated stalls only; no parking along Churchill Drive; the beach lot is recommended. No fee stated. Source

Checked October 18, 2026 · Official page

Photo: Joli Rumi · CC BY-SA 4.0

Highlands

Mount Work Regional Park

  • Accessible Munn Road Loop: 630 m, smooth gravel, gentle slopes
  • Moderate overall; Summit Trail challenging

A CRD park whose Summit Trail is “challenging” and runs across the whole park, with an accessible 630 m loop and Hartland mountain-bike trails.

Facts from the official pages
Dogs
Under control or on a leash; leash immediately when horses are present. Source
Parking
A parking lot and accessible parking; no fee stated and the CRD charges only at Sooke Potholes and Thetis Lake. Source

Checked October 18, 2026 · Official page

Langford

Mill Hill Regional Park

  • Trail lengths not stated
  • Moderate

A CRD park with trails through Douglas-fir forest, Garry oak and a rocky hilltop; from the 203 m summit you can see Esquimalt Harbour and the Victoria area.

Facts from the official pages
Dogs
Under control or on a leash. Source
Parking
A parking lot and accessible parking; free (CRD parking fees apply only at Sooke Potholes and Thetis Lake). Source

Checked October 18, 2026 · Official page

Thetis Lake with forested shores

View Royal

Thetis Lake Regional Park trails

  • More than 40 km of trails in total; individual lengths not stated
  • Moderate

More than 40 km of trails around the lake, including the Lower and Upper Thetis Lake trails and the Seymour and Scafe Hills routes; mountain-bike trails run from easy to black diamond.

Facts from the official pages
Parking
Pay parking May 1 to September 30: $2.00 for two hours, $5.00 a day, $40 season’s pass. Free October 1 to April 30. Source
Dogs
Under control or on a leash; not on the main beach or Prior Lake beach June 1 to September 15. Source

Checked October 18, 2026 · Official page

Photo: Michal Klajban · CC BY-SA 4.0

Forest and river in Goldstream Provincial Park

Langford / Malahat

Goldstream Provincial Park: Mount Finlayson and Niagara Falls

  • About 16 km of trails in total; Mount Finlayson and Niagara Falls lengths not stated
  • Mount Finlayson: “steep and rugged”

A BC Parks day-use park with a trail network of about 16 km, the 47.5 m Niagara Falls, the steep and rugged Mount Finlayson trail, and a salmon run from late October.

Facts from the official pages
Salmon
“The best time for viewing is late October through November.” Chum, coho and Chinook enter the river from roughly late October through December. Fishing is not allowed. Source
Dogs
On a leash at all times; not in beach areas or park buildings; keep out of the river, especially during salmon spawning. Backcountry areas are not suitable for dogs. Source
Access
Some trails are described as “easy, wheelchair-accessible walks”; others not stated. Highway 1 congestion at the day-use area in late October and November. Source

Checked October 18, 2026 · Official page

Photo: Michal Klajban · CC BY-SA 4.0

Witty's Lagoon in Metchosin

Metchosin

Witty’s Lagoon: Bilston Creek and Tower Point trails

  • Forest trail to the beach: 1.2 km, moderate
  • Moderate (forest trail); flat (Tower Point)

A forest trail down Bilston Creek toward Sitting Lady Falls and the beach, and a flat user-friendly trail at Tower Point.

Facts from the official pages
Dogs
Under control or on a leash; beach areas above the natural boundary of the sea are off limits to dogs June 1 to September 15 (except Tower Point), apart from passing through on a leash. Source

Checked October 18, 2026 · Official page

Photo: Alanarce · CC BY-SA 4.0

Matheson Lake in Matheson Lake Regional Park

Metchosin / East Sooke

Matheson Lake Regional Park trails

  • Trail lengths not stated
  • Moderate

A loop trail around the lake and a link to the Galloping Goose Regional Trail, which connects to Roche Cove Regional Park.

Facts from the official pages
Dogs
Under control or on a leash; not on the main beach June 1 to September 15. Source

Checked October 18, 2026 · Official page

Photo: Michal Klajban · CC BY-SA 4.0

Rocky coast along the Coast Trail in East Sooke Regional Park

East Sooke

East Sooke Regional Park: Coast Trail

  • Coast Trail: 10 km
  • Overall rated Easy by the CRD; Anderson Cove trails mainly steep and uneven

A 10 km Coast Trail past pocket beaches, rocky bays and tide pools, in a park with 50 km of trails; Anderson Cove trails are “mainly steep with uneven terrain”.

Facts from the official pages
Dogs
Under control or on a leash. Source
Parking
Parking lots; free. Source

Checked October 18, 2026 · Official page

Photo: Michal Klajban · CC BY-SA 4.0

The map numbers the places in the order listed above.

About the lengths and ratings

Where a page gives a length or a difficulty rating, it is shown as the park states it; where it does not, the card says “not stated” rather than guessing. Ratings differ between agencies (green, blue and black at PKOLS; easy, moderate and challenging at the CRD), so they are not comparable across parks.

Getting there

Drive times from the Inner Harbour come from the travel-time matrix; most trailheads need a car. Bus options are on the car checker. For beaches and swimming in the same parks, see beaches near Victoria. Check each park’s page for closures before you go.

Frequently asked questions

What is an easy hike near Victoria?

The CRD rates East Sooke Regional Park overall Easy (its 10 km Coast Trail passes pocket beaches and tide pools), and gives Witty’s Lagoon’s Tower Point trail as a flat 500 m, and Mount Work’s accessible Munn Road Loop as 630 m of smooth gravel. Ratings are the park’s own, so judge by the details in each card.

Can I drive up Mount Douglas?

Not at the moment. Saanich says the gate to the summit is closed from 19 January to 1 December 2026 for the telecommunications tower replacement. The hike from the Churchill parking lot gate to the summit parking lot is 1,500 m with a 160 m elevation change.

When do the salmon run at Goldstream?

BC Parks says the best viewing is late October through November, with chum, coho and Chinook entering the river from roughly late October through December, and eagles gathering. Dogs must stay out of the river, and fishing is not allowed.

Are dogs allowed?

Mostly on a leash. The CRD asks for dogs under control or on a leash; Goldstream requires a leash at all times; PKOLS requires a leash except on designated leash-optional trails, with a May to August ban north of Cordova Bay Road and on the beach. See each card.

Do I pay to park?

At CRD parks only at Thetis Lake and Sooke Potholes (1 May to 30 September: $2 for two hours, $5 a day or a $40 season’s pass). The other parks listed are free to park at; PKOLS and Goldstream state no day-use fee on the pages we read.

More in Things to do

Sources

This is an independent planning site, not the operator or a government body. Prices checked on October 18, 2026; confirm with the operator before you book.