Craigdarroch Castle (1050 Joan Crescent) is open Wednesday to Sunday, 10:00 am to 4:30 pm, and closed on 25 and 26 December and 1 January. Adult admission is $23.50 (checked 18 October 2026). The castle says tours take a minimum of 45 minutes. It has no ramps or elevators and is not wheelchair accessible. It is about 2 km on foot from downtown, uphill along Fort Street, and parking on site is free.

Photo: Ken Walker · CC BY-SA 2.5

Photo: Hugh Lee from Edmonton Alberta, Canada · CC BY-SA 2.0

Photo: Tim-desser · CC0
Craigdarroch Castle: visit card
Rockland · Indoors
- Address
- 1050 Joan Crescent, Victoria, BC V8S 3L5. Open in OpenStreetMap
- Hours
- Open: Wednesday to Sunday, 10:00 am – 4:30 pm
- Closed: Monday, Tuesday, December 25, December 26 and January 1
- Prices
- The page does not name the currency or say whether tax is included, and says all prices are subject to change. Admission includes use of the private on-site parking lot. A personalized guided tour is the admission rate plus $50 for the guide. Currency: Canadian dollars are assumed where the page does not say.
Admission prices Category Price Adult · Senior (65+) · Post-secondary student (18+ with ID) · Youth (12–17) · Child (4–11) · Child 3 and under $23.50 · $21.00 · $21.00 · $15.50 · $10.50 · Free
Free with a paying adult - Time to allow
- Tours take a minimum of 45 minutes. The castle gives no longer guidance. Source
- Accessibility
- Not wheelchair accessible (per the official site).
- The castle is a historic house museum with no ramps or elevators and is not wheelchair accessible.
- The number of stairs is not stated.
- Large backpacks, suitcases and strollers are not allowed.
- Certified guide and service dogs are welcome.
- Getting there
- About 2 km on foot from downtown Victoria, off Fort Street on Joan Crescent. Fort Street is a steady uphill climb.
- Fort Street is on a bus route and has dedicated bike lanes.
- Free parking is on site; admission includes use of the private lot.
- With children
- Strollers and large backpacks are not allowed inside; the castle asks visitors to leave them in their vehicle.
Check tickets and book with Craigdarroch Castle Official website
© OpenStreetMap contributors. Map data generated from the Protomaps basemap build 20261017.
Combine with
- Art Gallery of Greater Victoria0.3 km straight line
- Government House and Gardens0.5 km straight line
- Ross Bay Cemetery1.3 km straight line
What the castle is
Craigdarroch Castle describes itself as a “bonanza castle”: one of the large houses built for entrepreneurs who became wealthy in the industrial age. This one was built between 1887 and 1890 on a hill overlooking Victoria for Robert Dunsmuir, a Scottish immigrant who made his fortune from Vancouver Island coal. He died in 1889 and left his estate to his wife Joan, who lived in the castle until her death in 1908.
The castle’s own description of what you see is four floors of stained glass windows, intricate woodwork and Victorian-era furnishings. Its gift shop is in the Visitor Centre and is open on the days the castle offers tours.
Planning the visit
The castle is closed Monday and Tuesday, so it suits a Wednesday to Sunday plan. Because there is no elevator, anyone who cannot manage stairs should read the accessibility notes in the visit card first and contact the castle on 250.592.5323 if in doubt. Strollers have to stay outside, which matters if you are visiting with a baby.
The walk from downtown is about 2 km and uphill, according to the castle. The visit card above lists the other ways to arrive. For a day that combines the castle with other places, see the things to do page, where you can filter by indoor places, family features and access.
Frequently asked questions
What are Craigdarroch Castle’s opening hours?
Wednesday through Sunday, 10:00 am to 4:30 pm. The castle is closed on Monday and Tuesday, and on December 25, December 26 and January 1. The ticket office closes 45 minutes before closing.
How much does it cost to visit Craigdarroch Castle?
The castle lists adults at $23.50, seniors (65+) and post-secondary students with ID at $21.00, youth (12–17) at $15.50 and children (4–11) at $10.50. Children 3 and under are free with a paying adult. The page does not name the currency or say whether tax is included, and says prices are subject to change.
How long does a visit take?
The castle says tours take a minimum of 45 minutes and gives no other guidance. Personalized guided tours cost the applicable admission plus $50 for the guide and are booked by email through the castle.
Is Craigdarroch Castle wheelchair accessible?
No. The castle describes itself as a historic house museum with no ramps or elevators and says it is not wheelchair accessible. It does not state the number of stairs. Large backpacks, suitcases and strollers are not allowed, and certified guide and service dogs are welcome.
How do I get to Craigdarroch Castle?
The castle is about 2 km on foot from downtown Victoria, off Fort Street on Joan Crescent, and Fort Street is a steady uphill climb. Fort Street is on a bus route and has dedicated bike lanes. Free parking is on site and admission includes use of the private lot.
Can I buy tickets online?
Yes. The castle says to buy self-guided tour tickets online or at the Visitor Centre on arrival. Discounted admission for some groups is available for in-person sales only; see the castle’s page for who qualifies.
More in Things to do
- Things to do in Victoria BCHub
- Butchart GardensGuide
- Whale watchingGuide
- Royal BC MuseumGuide
- Afternoon teaGuide
- Day trips from VictoriaGuide
